Why I’m De-Cluttering My Closet, Deleting Facebook, and Drinking Green Smoothies

Hellooooo, internet world!

I’ve been off the map for a few days for a number of reasons. I’ll list them in the order of most to least boring:

  1. Believe it or not, grad school takes up a lot of my free time.
  2. I found out I have gastroesophageal reflux disease.

Weren’t expecting that one, were ya?

Long story short, I’ve been hella busy with school and my stomach has decided to throw a temper tantrum every time I eat something. Jokes aside, it got to a point where I literally couldn’t eat anything and I became so fatigued that I didn’t do much more than drag myself to class and sleep. However, my boyfriend finally forced me to go to the doctor – and thank goodness he did because now I have a variety of stomach meds to take for a few weeks and a lighter dietary plan with foods that my stomach can tolerate. (Also big shout of to my doc! She was super nice, answered my endless list of questions, and commiserated with me about how much it sucks that I can’t eat sriracha and chocolate anymore).

So what the hell does my TMI stomach issues have to do with this post?

I’m so glad you asked.

The other day, I was sitting on the bus on my way to class and for the first time, I wasn’t reading or scrolling on my phone. I was just sitting, looking out the window, and people watching the other bus-goers, when I had a moment of clarity – like one 32a7752596e098da3bd2aaeeb617ae77of those ones you see in the movies – where I recognized that I was so overwhelmed with how content I felt. It had been so long since I let myself sit without my eyes being glued to something, in no hurry, just soaking in the moment. It was liberating.

This got me thinking more about minimalism, a topic that sparked my interest towards the end of last year. Coincidentally (or maybe not so much), one of my goals for 2017 was to turn all of my hangers around in my closet to see which clothes I actually wear in a month. Have I done that yet? Nope. My closet is still overstocked with clothes that I say I’ll wear eventually but never do.

And all of THAT got me thinking about social media and how we’re always plugged in and how our feeds are so clogged and cluttered with everyone else’s bullshit and I began wondering: Why do we do this to ourselves?

Why do we buy so many trendy clothes that we know we’re not going to wear in 2 months because by then they’ll be out of style? Why do we scroll through feeds of posts from people who are our ‘friends’ online but we don’t sustain a connection with outside of the digital realm? Why do we always need stimulation and want more, more, more? I could go down the rabbit hole trying to answer any of these questions but I’ll leave that to the minimalist experts over at TheMinimalists.com (seriously, check them out, they have a great podcast and a very informative documentary on Netflix).

Now, I’d be lying if I said I’m going to delete all of my apps, throw out all of my stuff, move into a tiny house, and live life with the bare necessities.

I’m a baby steps kinda’ girl.

decluttering

I started with deleting Facebook. Lately, my feed has been feeling like Austin traffic at 5pm on I-35: frustratingly clogged, usually purposeless, with lots of angry people who don’t give a shit about anyone around them. (If you do choose to delete FB, remember to unlink all of your other apps from it first! I figured that out the hard way).

And I’m not trying to say that there’s anything wrong with wanting to keep your Facebook. Like I’ve mantra’ed in most of my posts, making lifestyle changes are all about YOU. Maybe you’re more into the idea of a week-long social media cleanse. Or combing through your email subscriptions to de-clutter your inbox. There are endless ways to revitalize your feeds!

Next, I tackled my closet and turned all of my hangers the opposite way. In one month, I’m going to see what I actually wore by seeing which hangers are turned back around and donate the rest. From what I’ve read, there’s some awesome benefits to de-cluttering your wardrobe: you eliminate stress, save time from having less to choose from, and become a more conscious consumer. Nice, right?

And as I mentioned earlier, I’m ‘de-cluttering’ my diet. This one isn’t really by choice but deciding to spread this theme to other parts of my life has made it easier to digest (ha, food puns)! Adopting a conscious, healthful diet has so many benefits I can’t even begin to list them here – don’t believe me? Read this.

Again, don’t feel compelled to make a drastic change and commit to a vegan lifestyle or go on a crash diet. You could try a Whole30 challenge or opt for a smoothie instead of chips as a snack. Remember, it’s all about YOU and what works for you and the lifestyle you want to lead. Feel free to peruse my food board if you’re looking for some foodspiration!

I know this is a long-winded post but if you made it this far, thanks for reading! Stay healthy, stay mindful, and stay positive, friends.

XO, Lain

Have you tried ascribing to the minimalist lifestyle? How do you like to de-clutter your life?

2 thoughts on “Why I’m De-Cluttering My Closet, Deleting Facebook, and Drinking Green Smoothies

  1. Pingback: How to Use Your Weekend to Re-energize and Rejuvenate – Stay in your Lain

Leave a Reply

